Never Worry About “What’s For Dinner?” Ever Again.

Image

WhatsForDinner_700x700If you are anything like I was, trying to figure out what to make for dinner is a daily battle. With a little planning, you can eliminate that stress and also save a ton of money on your grocery bill. Here’s how to get started:

STEP ONE – Get organized. 

You’re going to need a binder, nothing fancy, a simple 1” binder will due. Then you’ll need to download and print these handy binder pages I’ve created for you:

Click to download FreezerInventory PDF
Click to download DinnerIdeasPages PDF
Click to download BlankCalendar PDF

STEP TWO – Dinner Ideas Pages

I dug out my recipe books or cards (whichever you use) and began jotting down meals into each category on the Dinner Ideas Pages. I choose meals that I know we have eaten and enjoyed in the past. Don’t forget about easy, no-recipe meals like grilled hamburgers, marinated chicken breasts, etc. etc.

There’s also a page for “New Recipes.” I use this page when I go on a Pinterest bender. If you have used Pinterest, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t been on Pinterest, then what are you waiting for?? Get over there NOW. But finish ready my post first.

I’ll write down a few new recipes I’d like to try that I can refer to later when I want to be adventurous, for a special meal or just get sick of the usual routine.

STEP THREE – Take an inventory of your pantry, fridge and freezer.

Keep in mind that I plan on a monthly basis. So usually the last week of the month, I’ll start getting an idea of what we’ll have left over. I plan meals accordingly in the next month to use up what we’ve already got on hand. If you’d like, you can use the Freezer Inventory List you downloaded in Step One.

STEP FOUR – Start filling in the dates on your calendar.

Make it an enjoyable process rather than a chore. Pick a quiet night when you can relax on the couch in your pajamas with a glass of wine and your favorite tunes.

With my next month calendar in hand, I cross off dates that I know we’ll be eating out or away from home. No need to plan a meal for those days!

Next, you can fill in some dates based on the food you’ve already got on hand. We usually have enough left over to fill up a few days or so. Then I refer to my Dinner Idea Pages and start filling in accordingly.

Always consider your own schedule. For example, if Tuesday nights are especially busy for you, try to plan ahead and have leftovers that day or choose a meal that’s quick and simple to prepare. I usually pick a new recipe to try on Saturdays because I have more time to make a meal that might require more prep. You can also establish traditions. For example, Sunday night is always homemade pizza and movie night at our house, so that’s one less day I need to plan. Click here for the $4 Buck Pizza Recipe.

On the weekends, I also like to plan lunches if I’m able to. This saves us from resorting to fast-food dining. These are usually quicker, easier meals like grilled sandwiches, hot dogs, protein smoothies or salads.

STEP FIVE – Begin creating your grocery shopping list.

I cross-reference my Inventory List to make sure I’m not buying something I’ve already got. We generally do one big shopping trip at the end of the month, to stock up for the next month. Then I only need to make quick stops at the grocery store to pick up fresh produce or other perishables.

STEP SIX – Never Worry About “What’s For Dinner?” Ever Again.

Still not convinced this system is for you? Here are some of the benefits to adopting a menu planning lifestyle.

You will reduce your grocery bill by buying only what you’re going to us and reducing spoilage/waste.

Also, many of us dine out as a solution to the “what’s for dinner?” problem. This is costly and usually an unhealthy alternative to eating at home.

You can make life easier. Look ahead to the next day’s menu plan and see if you can prepare anything in advance. Take frozen foods out the freezer the night before so it’s ready to go.

Family meal times are proven to promote general well-being and strong family relationships.

You can plan a healthier menu in advance. When we’re hungry and stressed, we’re more likely to grab convenience foods, which are never good for you. It goes without saying that a healthier diet can help you reach your weight loss or fitness goals.

And finally, less stress for you. Which is what really matters right?

I hope you found this insightful! I’d love to hear your monthly menu strategies or answer any of your questions!

Leave a comment